Who Said That?

Standard

Okay, here’s a moan. Now, I believe that a woman gets to a certain age and becomes invisible. I’m fine with not getting the appraising looks from the fellas anymore, no problem, had all that when I was young and now it’s the turn of others. But I really don’t like the ‘blending into the background’ thing that seems to happen, do you know what I mean? The hundred-yard stare that goes just past your head to something more sparkly behind you? The main culprits are shop assistants, I think. To them, you are just another slightly plump middle-aged woman, not at all interesting. Because I get rankled by this, I will often say something randomly silly just to get them to look at me, try it, it’s fun Okay, so you are then the slightly plump middle-aged MAD woman, but at least they have NOTICED you! The other thing is that (I’m not sure whether this is age-related or just people being rude, to be honest) that people just keep walking into me, why do I always have to be the one that has to move out of the way for everyone else. Surely sometimes it’s my turn to walk and for someone else to move? And even my car seems to be invisible, with other drivers looking seeming to look at me coming down the road towards them, but come out anyway. Or drive straight across my path to a parking space on the wrong side of the road. I mean, what’s all that about? Answers on a postcard to ‘Grumpy Old Woman……’

Leave a Reply

