Jubilee Birthday!

Standard

This is my latest make, card-wise. Well, everything-wise I guess, as I have a few things on the hook/pins/ aida, but nothing finished to show off at the mo. Cards are pretty instant which is probably one of the reasons why I love to make them. Anyway, this is for my friend Doreen. She has a special birthday this Friday, and as she was born the year our Queen took the throne I thought I’d go with the whole Jubilee theme……… and of course, Doreen is a sparkly diamond too! I used a 8″x8″ scalloped card from Craftwork Cards, then went mad with Sizzix Best of British paper collection given away in this months Crafts Beautiful magazine. There are some great prints and cut-outs and I know that I will use, and the magazine is good too, it’s probably my favourite craft magazine.  So, back to the card, along with the pretty red and white background, I cut out some of the triangles from the bunting design paper, double-mounted them on punched out triangles and used foam pads to give a 3D effect. I tucked some red and white bakers string behind them across the tops and curled at the edges, glued with tiny blue mulberry flower. I added the ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment, embellished with stick-on gems, again from the papers, gives it a bit of a regal look I think! Across the bottom I used more papers from the pack cut into strips, a gingham one and a dotty one, and popped some red mulberry flowers along it to, with a 60 on a punched out circle to add some balance in the corner. I personalised it with a royal blue sparkly ‘Doreen’, then threw on another couple of tiny flowers, just for the hell of it (mad and reckless, thats me!). And there we jolly well are, a card fit for a Queen! 

Leave a Reply

